f o l l o w           

chris@mmadecisions.com - Saturday, May 25, 2013

When thinking of fighters with enough power to string together consecutive first round wins by KO or TKO, Mike Pyle probably doesn't come to mind. However, at UFC 160, Pyle was only one first round T/KO away from tying Shane Carwin's mark of four consecutive first round victories by KO or TKO.

In order to tie Carwin's mark at UFC 160, Pyle needed to do something no other fighter had done: defeat Rick Story by KO or TKO.

Since losing to Rory MacDonald in August of 2011, Pyle reeled off quick wins again Ricardo Funch, Josh Neer and James Head, before finally having his streak broken against Story.

The following is the complete list of fighters who have won at least three consecutive UFC fights in the first round by KO or TKO.

Consecutive First Round KO/TKO Wins in the UFC *
# Fighter Streak Date Weight Class
1Shane Carwin42008-2010Heavyweight
2Vitor Belfort31997Heavyweight
-Chad Mendes **32012-2013Featherweight
-Roy Nelson **32012-2013Heavyweight
-B.J. Penn32001Lightweight
-Mike Pyle32012-2013Welterweight
-Nate Quarry32005Middleweight
* - As of May 28th, 2013
** - Active streaks


Alcantāra Set To Break Brazilian UFC Mark
Odd Man Out: The Judges Most Likely to Cause Split Decisions
The Busiest UFC Judges of 2014
The Most Disputed Decisions of 2014
UFC 181: Fighters vs. Judges
The 8 Fifth-Round Stoppages in UFC Fights
Most UFC Decision Victories Without a Decision Loss
The 12 Fighters to Win 4 UFC Fights in a Calendar Year
Most Lopsided Scorecards in UFC History
Henderson 2nd Oldest to Win UFC Fight by T/KO
Story Ties Record for UFC Split Decision Losses
Bertrand, Borges Set New UFC Judging Mark at UFN 36

© 2014 MMADecisions.com